Connecting

This past week I’ve noticed I’m not the only one reconnecting!   Maybe we’re all following through on our New Years resolutions to do so.  🙂   This past year many told me, life was whirling around them, and they forgot too many family birthdays, or they missed chatting time, or sitting down to a nice dinner with friends.

The theme of 2008 for me was to finish up promises I’d made to family, while holding true to my own dreams.   The promises were the parent kind, support and advise my girls on beginning their independant lives, holding true to their dreams.  It’s amazing to me that my girls are suddenly grown with careers as an Optician, Accountant, Massage Therapist and the youngest feels she’ll focus on teaching.  Right now she’s the acting Food Services Manager at Mt. Hood Meadows resort – at the age of 19.

My dreams are specific to my writing, take it to the professional level, publish.  Which took me back to school for classes on writing, theatre and Speech.  I really loved Speech class.   For a mother of 4, having two dozen fellow students listening to me, was empowering.  It wasn’t just that they were required to listen, the questions they asked meant they were interested in what I said.  Yes, I am considering joining a Toastmasters group.  But first, my primary love, is story, and the dream, to connect with readers.  So that’s my goal for 2009.

I did keep a big promise in 2008, to facilitate my husband’s life long dream.  He’s always wanted to live on an airpark, build his own hangar.   This was a drain on my time and energy for a while, but his dream came true and for me, I’ve got another wild story to tell.   It’s going to take time and talent for readers to connect with that one.  Private pilots are a rare breed; the ones that actually want to live with their airplanes, very few.

Readers like that.  They want to connect with characters they would never be, face challenges outside the opportunities of their lives, and follow the drama and conflicts to a new understanding about – something – that the reader can then own.  A story to enjoy, treasure and feel it was worth the time and escape, to read.

That’s my dream, to be that type of writer and connect, with my reader.

So it is written, now it’s up to me to get it on with it!

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

6 Responses to Connecting

  1. Abe says:

    Hi Terri,

    First of all, how can you be a mother of four when you’re only 25? Secondle, welcome to the world of “blog.” I will visit constantly.

    Abe

    Like

  2. Abe says:

    ***That s/b “secondly” My bad.***

    Like

  3. Rose says:

    Keep the energy up! This year promises to be a wild ride.

    Like

  4. Glad to see you blogging. Living with an airplane is quite an undertaking. However, it actually makes sense considering how much maintenance those things take. 🙂

    Now that you’ve helped everyone in your family live up to their dreams, you definitely deserve a chance to pursue your own. So go for it, woman! Write, write, write and send, send, send.

    Like

  5. terripatrick says:

    Hi Abe,
    25? LOL! Well you’re half right!

    Like

  6. Abe says:

    OK, 30 then, but that’s my final offer

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

