What books are you reading?

My sister Rose asked me this question yesterday.  It caused a pause – because I didn’t have one book to name at the moment.   I scrambled to redeem myself, what writer would dare admit to not reading!  Well, I was working on my screenplay last week for class, and I’ve been catching up on a stack of magazines…

I’m also a student editor for the 2009 CLR, and have been reading submissions.   I’ve been reading all kinds of stuff on the web, book excerpts, blogs, etc.   Which is reading for the “business” of writing, not reading, there is a difference. Rose knows this difference since she’s a poet, and teaches Shakespeare and more to High School seniors, and reads tons for her job.

Rose always has a “book” that she’s reading and a list of those she intends to read soon.  Every time we talk, Rose and I talk about the books we’re reading, for story.   We discuss the author voice, style, and more, though we seldom read the same book.  It was a one sided conversation this time.  When I hung up the phone I was still stumped, had I read a book this month?  Fortunately I remembered, yes!  It helps when your friends are authors.

Mistress of Pleasure by Delilah Marvelle – a wickedly, sexy historical romance.  This is her debut novel, she kept true to her passion through many years and tons of rejections and now – finally.  Her second book is due out in August.  It’s a great story but when I read it, I wasn’t in the mindset of reading a book.  It was the mindset of savoring the experience of my friends’ debut novel.  There is a huge difference.

Now I’m going to unplug and read a book, for the pleasure of curling up with a story.

Feel free to post books you’re reading – or – tell me why you loved a book you recently read.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

One Response to What books are you reading?

  1. Pingback: Archives « Terri Patrick’s Blog

Thanks for your comments.

