Romance

Valentine’s Day flavored today’s meeting of Rose City Romance Writers with chocolates, treats and laughter.   I’ve been a member for six years, and held at least one volunteer position every year.  I love being part of the team, working forward on projects that are dear to our passion.  Today was the election of the new board and the end of my volunteering – for at least a few years.

Life throws us curves, to our goals, especially if those goals aren’t really clear.  My goal was “writing romances will be my retirement career”.  I should have stated that goal as:  “My career is producing novels, that line bookstore shelves, and readers adore.”  The energy of words used in our goals will help us achieve them, so, I’ve achieved the – writing romances goal.

Another intent was, I would write the love story of my parents marriage.  I expected this would be in novel form, sometime after I had a readership for my romances.  I assumed my parents story would be all about them, and sort of, the final book of my career, prior to death, a legacy to my children or something.  I vowed – I’d write it after my girls were grown and my parents gone.  I had no idea how fast that would happen, or how young I would be.  But suddenly I was there. The story of my parents and childhood is inspirational, and I have other stories to share, with this new voice in memoir.  I’m sure I’ll be part of a new team, with this real-life story.

I know the power of story, and adore creating fiction.  I’m sure my themes will overlap between non-fiction and fiction, some readers will enjoy both styles of my writing.  Only when my books are in readers hands, will I know.  That’s my goal.  My books, to be available in print, e-book and audio.  My focus is connecting with readers, the format is up to them.

It was with a touch of nostalgia, I watched my old life of volunteering, begin its final weeks.  The future being written,  my books on bookstore shelves, is fun to imagine.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

Thanks for your comments.

