Fun stuff

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”  Einstein

This is a great quote for a writer because we review, edit, revise constantly, to obtain different results.  Shifting a comma or changing a suffix will obtain different results to a sentence or tense.    I didn’t see the personal connection of this quote, to my process today, until now.

An author has to grab the reader in the opening sentences and pages.  The middle of a novel has to deliver and twist on all the promises from the opening, to the end – a grand climax.  It’s appropriate the word used for a great ending and the pinnacle of a sexual encounter, are the same.  Endorphins are good.  The challenge for authors is called, the sagging middle.   Not to be confused with midriff paunch.

The sagging middle is not my issue – the midriff paunch is.  I work on my abs on grammy days with Kiernan, who gets bigger and heavier, daily.  But today was a total writing day and the first two hours were OK, working on the first chapter.   Then, for some reason, I went to The End, and began working forward, scene by scene.   It was wonderful, productive, fascinating work.

I’m energized after the most contemplative and peaceful Easter season I’ve ever known.  I can even share the feeling, because my brother sent me two links this week that show what the amazing human can do when we are young and what we can do when older.  The objective is not to let life sag, in the middle.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

Thanks for your comments.

