The Titans

Remember the Titans is one of those movies, for me, that seems to show up on my TV screen at times when I need to watch it again.  That happened tonight.  Ed was channel surfing, I was in the other room, talking to my sister on the phone.  When I hung up the phone, I heard the familiar voices and words. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen this movie, but can say; enough times I don’t really mind the commercial breaks anymore.

I love football movies.  Football is the one sport I know about because both my dad and my husband love the game.   As a romance novelist, I like to say, what woman wouldn’t love it when the camera is always panning a line-up of muscled male derrieres in stretch pants?   I really enjoy football because of the team effort, as was stated in Randy Pausch’s chapter titled, “I never made it to the NFL.”   There are 22 players on the field and only one ball, it matters what all those guys are doing.

“Remember the Titans” is not historically accurate.  But that is the difference between real life, and story, and screenplays.   The real stories of all those characters is bigger, grander, more dramatic.  The racial tension wasn’t at that specific school, that year.  Yet, the messages, the inspirations, and the possibilities for growth on a soul level are presented in this movie.  The Titans keep recurring in story and Denzel Washington brings them to life in this movie, as do all the characters, and actors who portrayed them.

The power of story is always –  a team effort.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to The Titans

  1. stacey warner says:

    Do you watch FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS? It’s a GREAT show! I think you’d love it! I do and I don’t even like football, LOL!

    Like

  2. terripatrick says:

    I’ll check it out, I’ve heard of it but haven’t had TV access on Friday’s for a long time.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

