The Debrief

After a mission is complete, there is always a scene when the hero/heroine has to meet the superiors for a debriefing session.  In James Bond movies, this is referred to, and something Mr. Bond avoids with a final romantic retreat – with the lady of the movie.  It’s a good practice.

I have no superiors waiting for my debrief of what I learned by attending a romance writers conference, and I don’t do – crowds – well.  That means I’m not in debrief mode, where I give my impressions of a fabulous conference, amazing speakers and workshops.  There were only a few – epiphanies –  for me.

There was tons of talking, sharing stories, with friends I knew before – but didn’t really know – and amazing workshops, and talks, from inspiring speakers.

I’m in detox mode.  Rest.  I didn’t have a relaxing romantic pause.  I guess I’m not – James Bond.   But I do have a ton of new books.  Which – for me – is awesome.  Because that’s where the new journey begins, for me.  In books.

ECWC 018

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

3 Responses to The Debrief

  1. stacey warner says:

    I look forward to hearing more when you are done processing…I hope you said, Hi to the Emerald City for me, my home town!

    MUCH LOVE

    Like

  2. Rose Lefebvre says:

    Sounds like you have been invigorated and inspired!! I am glad you enjoyed it.

    Like

  3. terri says:

    Yes Stacey, I do love the town, it’s got good energy for writers. This is my 3rd Emerald City conference since 2003. I also attended the Pacific NW Writers conference in 2007 and can recommend that one too! It’s very different, and totally awesome.

    Rose – yes, inspired, invigorated and exhausted. I don’t do hotels well but they are part of the experience. Conferences take a physical toll, and as good as the food may be, it’s not what the body knows. A small price to pay for an overload of positive energy and ideas.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

