success

Deborah Cooke was a keynote speaker at the conference I attended two weeks ago.  A wander through her trophy room at Château Delacroix reveals this woman has succeeded as an author, under three different names.

Her motivational speech was about personal success as a goal, not recognition according to others, money, or lists.  I told her later, this engaging speech felt like it was directed at me.   Here’s what I learned from Deb’s speech:

Success is a process and builds through many levels.  Success is dependent on the point-of-view and who is measuring the result of your success.  So keep it personal.

Today I felt success!  I’m back on target for my goal this month, to have my novel rewritten, polished and off to beta readers.   My struggle this week was to decrease 30+ pages of sparkling dialogue and wonderful descriptions into 10 pages or less.  I trimmed, tightened, moved scenes around, but still had tons of words to cut.  Then I remembered a question from a critique on an earlier scene, “how does this move the story forward?”  Duh.  The wit and twists were so fun to me!  But as a reader, would I really care?  Or would I want to get back to the story.

I changed the POV character and dumped a dozen pages into two paragraphs.  Success depended on the point of view.  🙂

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

4 Responses to success

  1. Rose Lefebvre says:

    Good luck! I hope the words flow free, clear and beautiful!

    Like

  2. Yay! Every time you do that,m congratulate yourself!

    Like

  3. stacey warner says:

    Excellent…I love it when we find ways to make pages work better…

    much love

    Like

  4. Pingback: fears and goals « Terri Patrick's Blog

Thanks for your comments.

