new methods

I’m evolving from a pantster to a plotter – or maybe not – but I am learning to plot which is cool.  I stated (as a goal) that I wanted to write books, when I was 12 years old.  Now I see the difference that could have been – if only I had stated my goal as – wanting to publish stories.  There’s a big difference between writing books and publishing stories.  Two main differences are plot and conflict, which are essential for story and barely there in books I’ve written.

I now see I was a pantster writer, which means I had a general idea of my characters and a specific event and not much else to wind my way through a story.   It’s an exciting and creative way to attack a story.   The story is free to evolve, the characters can take control and the author may have a lot of work in the future to tame this beast.

The challenge of a plotter writer is, the plotter may be unable to unleash the beast and actually write the story.  Hmm…

In October, I won a raffle basket that was donated by Amy Rench.   Within that basket was Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook by Donald Maass.  This week, I sketched out a workable plot for my WIP  then began working through the exercises in this workbook.   Oh!  The joy of story! The depth of possibilities!  Using the same characters I created, the settings, the wacky situations, the struggles, I can see the greater darkness they will now endure.  I’ll twist, trip, and tie up those too nice characters.

On Saturday, our workshop was The Art of Being a God – Building Worlds from Microbes to Suns.  Minnette and Delilah are awesome writers and presenters, and I adore their books.  Neither of these writers have issues with forcing their characters into trials beyond repair – and yet – redemption does arrive through conflict and drama and the mastery of a powerful plot.

Maybe I will live up to the potential of what I have learned.

At the age of 12, I had no idea I was stating a goal that was really a journey.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to new methods

  1. stacey warner says:

    Great post…it is a journey and each year it gets better and better. Writing is a search for the holy grail, only the brave will attempt it.

    much love

    Like

  2. Rose Lefebvre says:

    Good luck with your project and I do hope we will hear of a publication one day!!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

