sister time

I am blessed with two sisters who I not only love, but also like – a lot.  For most of our adult lives we’ve been separated by hundreds and thousands of miles, as we raised our families and pursued our careers.  As a child, I assumed my future would include my sisters and their families as an integral part of my life.   That was the example I had as a child, with my aunts always around, combining shopping lists, mending clothes, celebrating special dances, hosting boisterous family parties.

It takes a village to raise a child and my village was all related. These were Irish farmers, firmly transplanted to American soil for about a hundred years.  Each generation produced dozens of offspring every two decades.  Which put me into into the fifth or sixth generation, in the 1960’s, on my dad’s side of this very Irish Catholic family.  Imagine Happy Days, merging with My Big Fat Greek Wedding,  with a cast of character from Gangs of New York.  Loud, boisterous, affectionate, dramatic!

That’s what I wanted for my children, a diverse group of talented and opinionated people, so there was a unique resource for all four of my girls.  But it didn’t work out that way.  At the age of 23, with two tiny daughters, I moved to New Jersey.  My sister Sharon already lived in California with her two children, and our oldest sister Rose remained in Ohio with her family. The only sister time was when we all met at our parents home in Cleveland, Ohio. This was (is!) not a preferred vacation spot of choice for many.

15 years later, Sharon and I both lived in Oregon and were blending our families together.  Rose completed her Masters in Education and to celebrate, we organized our first “Sister’s Trip”.  The 3 of us girls took a weekend escape to Astoria, OR.  The fun!  The memories.

I think it was 8 years before we did it again.  In 2007, we met in Atlanta, Georgia for our nostalgic trip into our past, and the connection we have with The Roosevelt Foundation in Warm SpringsHere we are, beneath a picture of our mom from 1960.

The time gap is only 3 years now.  We’re planning a weekend in Manzanita, Oregon this June.  I can’t wait!

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

One Response to sister time

  1. Rose Lefebvre says:

    It is difficult when you do not have family close by. My mother and I are close and I so miss the times we shared, the conversations, the laughter. I am the only one who lives in Oregon, all the rest are in California, and I sometimes feel left out and forgotten.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

