it’s not a memoir

Delilah and I finally meshed our schedules to talk about my book, that she read and considers amazing.  The phone call lasted 40 minutes.  Ed’s out of town and Keirnan, who was a content and quiet baby all day, stayed so for ten minutes.  Then he was off, pulling metal bowls from the cupboard, flushing toilets, swarming up the stairs…  Then the dog barfed up grass onto the carpet.

Even so, I was able to focus as she asked what other projects I planned along the same lines as this book.  Well, two potentials that are referenced in this book.  This got Delilah excited and she stated there could be so much more, I could become my own genre.  OK, that made me cringe.  Publishers and booksellers don’t know where to put – the genre of its own – book.  Which brought us back to the point of our conversation.

It’s not the product, the book is inspiring, fun, poignant and has lots of great section titles and quotable messages.   It’s the marketing that needs work.  Which begins with the title.  Which needs to reflect what the book is.  It’s not memoir.  According to Delilah, it’s literary nonfiction.  This made me laugh because I’ve been told in the past I can’t write literary because my voice is too commercial.

There will be more brainstorming on how to market this non-memoir.  For now, I’ll title it:  “The Will to Love – true stories from a functional family.”  LOL!

Or maybe not…  Dysfunctional families create victims.    Functional families endure traumas and joys, hurts and forgiveness, trials and successes.  The difference in a functional family – no victims – because being victimized is a state of mind.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to it’s not a memoir

  1. stacey warner says:

    The creative process is so much fun and I love hearing fresh, exciting perspectives about my own work…I sense you do too.

    much love

    Like

  2. Rose says:

    I wish you success in attaining your goal. Wanted to let you know I enjoy your blog.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

