it’s memoir again

Today’s workshop speaker was Alice Orr.  It was the 4th time we’ve met.  The first time was 1996 at a NJRW chapter meeting.  I had sent a few manuscripts to editors at Harlequin and the latest rejection included the advice to join RWA, which led to joining my local chapter.   At the second meeting I attended, a woman sat beside me and asked about my writing.  She was fun and full of advice then gave me her card so when I was ready for an agent, I could contact her.  It was years before I did, with a nonfiction proposal, as she was closing her agency.

In 2004 we are both living in the Pacific NW and she taught an all day workshop for RCRW and I was the chapter treasurer and contest coordinator.  After the workshop a group of us when to dinner.

In 2007 we met at the PNWC in Seattle, recognized each other and chatted.  I was a  year into writing my memoir and there to learn, she was promoting her book, No More Rejections, which I own and use.

So today, (3 years later, again!) she let us pitch our stories to her.  I pitched my new project as dramatic nonfiction but she disagreed.  If it’s my life – it’s memoir.  🙂   I recently sent out a few queries stating my complete memoir is nonfiction, some to agents who don’t do memoir.  Sigh!

Fortunately, I have great notes and handouts from an amazing workshop today.  I’ve got a new project in process and am going to tuck into those 50 Secrets to Writing a Manuscript that Sells.  I just realized the nonfiction proposal I sent Alice as she was closing her agency, is a the same project I just pulled off the shelf after its eight year rest.

I’ve signed up to follow Alice’s blog.  It’s called:  Publishing Can Make Sense.  I’ll believe that when I see it!  LOL!

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

3 Responses to it’s memoir again

  1. Publishing makes sense? Alice is an optimist! But I’ll take a look t her blog!

    Like

  2. terripatrick says:

    Well, from the agent or editor perspective there is probably more of a sense of business in process that’s not felt on the writer side of the equation.

    Like

  3. jenean c gilstrap says:

    well, i’m headed over to her site, too – thanks so much for sharing your story – something to look forward to [or not]!!! 😉 have a great day and thanks so much for dropping by my place – your visits are always a welcome sight!!!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

