Why do bad things happen to good people?

My answer does not apply to acts of God, natural disasters or genetics.  This a bad things by people action answer.

Good people can be victims of fraud, abuse, lies, accidents, and random acts of violence.  Good people lose their homes, jobs, retirement, rights, and opportunities for happiness.   Why?  Because, some other person made a clear choice with strong intent for their agenda – in spite of how it would benefit/ruin anyone else – and was rewarded.  “Good job, they’re just suckers.  Ha!”

The good person drives a car with an intent to shop, go to work, attend an event, and anticipates the destination while passively following traffic rules.  Another person drives with road rage, drama distractions, a time panic, or thrill of a wild ride.  These are aggressive intents with high passion.  Crash.  Rage, drama, panic, and wild energy have been attracted: victims created.

I was startled last night.  This particular example happens a lot in my life and shows how the intent of one can victimize another.   Like a good girl, I was doing my work, writing.  I knew Ed would be home soon.  I even noticed the headlights on the street in my peripheral vision.  I probably heard the engine and the slam of the car door.

However, the rattle of the doorknob (it’s loose) and that quick whoosh and bang of the front door made me jump.  I experienced the full range of shock and surprise; the jump out of my skin sensation followed by the let down of fear released and the rise of anger at the attack to my peace.  It’s silly to have such a strong reaction and feel victimized, because all the signs were there if I was paying attention.

So why does this bad thing happen since I’m a good person?  It’s all the power of intent.

Ed’s intent to make an entrance is stronger than my intent to welcome him home.  🙂

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to Why do bad things happen to good people?

  1. Rose Lefebvre says:

    I would have probably peed my pants!!!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

