family stories

Everything’s Fine with Robert DeNiro and Drew Barrymore is a poignant movie that Ed and I both liked.  There is actually a story to this cinematic journey around the country!   The characters reveal themselves in subtle layers so I was entertained at the beginning and totally drawn in at the end.  Frank (Robert DeNiro) reminded both Ed and I of our dads so we were really caught from the opening scene.  🙂

I finished reading firefly lane by Kristin Hannah today and found it an enjoyable read from the first page.  It is the type of book where I could sigh over some amazing paragraphs and laugh in surprise at the twists.  I could set the book aside for a day and stay connected to the Mularkey family relationships, even when the characters annoyed me as being a bit one dimensional.  I started getting nervous by page 400 because there were a lot of pages left and there had to be something really bad coming.  And it did, and then got worse, but by that time I was so invested in the author’s truth I had to read it all – though I would have avoided this book if I knew – Ms. Hannah did a very good job…

Amelia was an enjoyable movie but felt like a historically inaccurate and overly romantic version of Amelia Earhart’s legacy to women in aviation.

I recently read Jane Porter’s Sheikh Trilogy published by Harlequin.  I can’t tell you how many years it’s been since I’ve read Presents! I was surprised how much story about the Fehr Family and a desert kingdom texture is tucked into those few pages.   Last month Jane stated her agent and editor suggest she write in third person for her next womens fiction novel.  I’m sure it will be awesome.

I’ve barely made a dent in all the books I won last month.  More happy reading ahead!

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

Thanks for your comments.

