the point is…

We watched Invictus this weekend.  The power of this movie is in the understatement since the story is true.  Movies like this should be used to teach history in schools.  During 1994-95 I personally gave passing attention to global events because I had a demanding job and four daughters in school.  It’s awesome now to see history presented so well.

Globally, history is happening now.  May was a big month for turmoil from the oil disaster in the Gulf of Mexico through Thailand, Jamaica and Greece.

I savored the sunshine and nature beauty this weekend, unplugged from the news and web.  Yet, at one point I was told I should get my head out of the clouds because there will be no future past 2012.  I don’t argue with this concept since Armageddon hung over my life since grade school.  I’m confident I will see my grandsons create a future worth living.  My personal history has shown it’s best not to empower the doom machine of the moment, no matter how many decades that moment may last.  Madiba is a good example since he held true for almost three decades in prison.

Another day, I was considered silly to have voted for Prez. Obama.  While I am not political, I am fascinated by history and the politics of the day is always a major player in the story.  I am hopeful there will be an uplifting future, no matter how dire events may seem at the moment.  I believe there is a more dynamic story in process than many see at the moment.  A few of my author friends admit they write the story to see how it ends while I’m one who can’t write a story until I know how it ends.  🙂

The past two days I’ve been plugged back into the world of news and webbits, there is so much!  But I’m inspired that the children are the human searchlights of our future while I’m a lighthouse in these rocky times.  I even caught the enthusiasm of my Ohio based friends and family that the demise of Touchdown Jesus could be a sign of hope The Browns will someday win the Superbowl.

The point is – horrors, trials and doom are part of our history but so is courage, innovation and success.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to the point is…

  1. Rose says:

    I am going to have to see that movie..thanks for recommendation.

    Like

  2. terripatrick says:

    Thanks Rose for posting the poem. See more at Rose’s blog at
    http://poetrose24.blogspot.com/2010/06/this-poem-is-not-new-to-me.html

    INVICTUS
    Out of the night that covers me,
    Black as the pit from pole to pole,
    I thank whatever gods may be
    For my unconquerable soul.

    In the fell clutch of circumstance
    I have not winced nor cried aloud.
    Under the bludgeonings of chance
    My head is bloody, but unbowed.

    Beyond this place of wrath and tears
    Looms but the Horror of the shade,
    And yet the menace of the years
    Finds and shall find me unafraid.

    It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll,
    I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.

    Invictus was written by the English poet William Ernest Henley (1849–1903) in 1875.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

