seed money won

I won a contest I didn’t realize I’d entered.  Kaylin McFarren ran a contest in June for a $100  gift card to win for reader reviews of Flaherty’s Crossing which is getting starred reviews from the pros.   I read the book in March, loved it, and wrote a review for it because I found it awesome.   When I saw Kaylin was running a contest to win a prize for a review I thought it was an interesting idea especially as is stated on the website:

And don’t forget! 100% of the proceeds from sales of this book go directly to cancer research at Providence Medical Center.”

I didn’t think about posting another review in June to be eligible for the contest but did like the connection between a prize of $100 when 100% of the proceeds go to a wonderful organization.   I didn’t read the requirements to win this review contest so was stunned to be the winning reviewer.  How cool is that?

(If you know Japanese you can enjoy the new biographical video about Kaylin’s husband and birth of Yoshida Sauce.  I read the Summary then watched the video and really didn’t lose much in translation.  🙂 )

I got my $100 prize the same day Mike Perry’s blog post about Seed Money was referenced on Trish & Rob’s Synchronicity blog Mike Perry’s blog is a delight and I catch every post through Google reader – which so far has not been affected by all the Google censorship issues.  (Could it be a China connection?)

Now these two events have me wondering…  I know someone who is more in need of $100 than me.  So I’m thinking about this Seed Money process because it would be really cool to keep that ten-fold return rolling over.  That would mean if I give away $100 with intent that I will get $1,000 that I could then give away… and get another ten-fold to give away…  I could fund a whole pile of deserving people and charities dear to my heart…  and all it cost me was –

The time it took to read a really awesome book and tell people about it.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

3 Responses to seed money won

  1. rose lefebvre says:

    That is nice to think of others! You are so sweet!
    Rewards in good deeds is the feeling you get form doing for others.
    God Bless!!!

    Like

  2. How funny! I was just thinking about Mike’s seed $ post, clicked over here and you mention it. Synchro!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

