more sister time

The flavor of this summer for me is – I am Woman, hear me laugh!  I’m suddenly learning a lot about the differences, layers, roles, and dreams of women.

During the weekend writer conference in Manzanita last month I watched my sister Rose perform her poetry.  This was a first for me and it is a significant memory because I’ve only read her poems in silence.   Rose’s voice gave a special nuance to the words and her memoir poetry brought tears to my eyes.

I attended one of Rose’s classes a few years ago.  I was impressed to experience Rose as a high school English teacher.  She kept her students engaged.  Then I talked to those same 20 high school seniors for fifteen minutes.  It was within 2 weeks of graduation, it was a Friday afternoon.  A few were interested in a professional relationship with agents and editors as a novelist.  The rest were distracted but I didn’t take it personally.   🙂

On a different note, I meet with a large group of women writers every month.  I know bits and pieces of their lives, careers, and family, but not really.  Many I have known for six years but only in relation to book events.  Other women are friends because of where we live and what we do in our neighborhood.  Some women I call friends only because of our connection to the pilots in our lives.

I don’t know why I’m suddenly fascinated by women since I am one and have four grown daughters.  It could be I finally have the time to consider that all the women in my life are unique and vibrant with layers of living beneath their surface.  I’ve reached a point in my life where I have the time to delight in wine, women and song.

My sister-in-law Carla is now in town for a month with her daughter’s family so fun times are planned.  I wonder what more I’ll learn about these women that have been a part of my life for decades.  I’m sure we’ll laugh.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

Thanks for your comments.

