My Ancestors

Friday night I was sitting quiet, with wine, and letting my mind travel.  I have no agenda at night, and I let my intuition choose where my thoughts will go.  Sometimes I will go into my memories and often feel I’m with someone from my past who is no longer available for verbal contact.  That means I talk to dead ancestors and they answer from my memories.

I’ve had the rare privilege to be the youngest of a large family, and my parents were the youngest of theirs, and I think my grandparents were also the youngest.  These were all big Irish Catholic families, with 4 to 7 children at each generation, and all remained close geographically to Cleveland, Ohio, so there was lots of interaction.  By the time I was born, extensive genealogy charts were already in place to keep straight the relationships of those living.  I still don’t have a clue what it means to be a second-cousin-once-removed but I do remember playing tag with them.

Our ancestors are integral players in who we are in the present.  This is a core truth I feel is often brushed to the shadows.  I like to embrace the good, the bad, and the ugly, that are the layers of who I am today.

On Friday night I was drawn to a picture of my aunts and uncles, a special picture that marked an annual holiday party.  I felt one (or more) of my aunts wanted me to see things from my past in a different, or clearer, perspective.

This week I’ve been reading a book on marketing/social media and future ways to do business.  It’s a fascinating book.  But it wasn’t what I was reading before I was drawn to the picture of my ancestors.  I hadn’t read that marketing book at all that day but I was suddenly seeing how my parents and their generation applied these same (new) principles of sharing and networking back in the 1960’s, when the only technology they had was a wired telephone with a rotary dial.

I was fascinated at this connection of information from past ancestor actions, in their time, to present technology today in my life.  I reveled in this whirlwind of ideas that what is the future is something I already know from my past.  I laughed with the memories so clearly connected.  I thanked my sassy-brat aunts for stirring the ideas in my mind.

Stuff like this takes time to process.  Intuitive insights are lightening flashes with no agenda.  It’s up to us to figure out what to do with them.

While still in a state of sorting and questioning ideas, I got an email this evening that the last aunt standing, is soon to be gone.  The only person in that collection of my ancestors, in the picture, is fading from this earthly plane.  The final announcement will come soon.

Aunt Joan will have an end date to her name.  I’m sure I will learn something then.  Aunt Joan was the oddball.  She had no interest in pie crusts or church socials.  She knew everything about fashion, makeup techniques, and the importance of style.

I’ll welcome whatever memories are now stirred by Aunt Joan because fashion and style is what I plan to add into my life today.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to My Ancestors

  1. How lucky to be from such large families. I’m an ‘only’ child and though it no doubt had some advantages I don’t have the depth of people in my memory bank. I still travel back though and find links to who or what I am now.

    Must be wonderful to have someone like an Aunt Joan to call on – but I’m sure you have ‘style’ already!

    Like

  2. I have lately been thinking about how one day I will be one of those ancestors. What memories, what legacy will I leave behind?
    I keep thinking that eventually we are all forgotten (unless we leave a monetary legacy of scholarships or something like that!). Whenever I drive by the site in Oregon City on Beavercreek where Ward Weaver took the lives of Ashley Pond and Miranda Gaddis I wonder if anyone remembers.
    Sorry, on a downer as lost a friend yesterdaay.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

