the network

We all have our networks, our friends and those who just sort of get us, even if they don’t really know us.  We all have people in our lives that should know the “real” us, like our siblings, husbands, children…  I’m really fortunate that my daughters have a clue that “mom” is awesome even though they haven’t a clue about who “mom” really is.

That’s awesome to me because I am so NOT into being defined.  I was a fully formed adult before any one of my daughters graced my life with their presence and they’ve taught me more than they can image.  But on the other side of my identity are the writers I know.  They all have personal stories as complicated and layered as my own.  These women are my network to the aspect of me that dabbles in dreams.

Dreams are ethereal but writers in my network also put their butt in the chair and slog in hours of work to put words on the page to entertain the readers that find what we write.  The dream is the idea, what we create is our business.  We put our energy, our soul into those words on the page.

It’s time for some promo links to those in my network:

Delilah Marvelle’s first two books in her scandal series are on the shelves.  Delilah is beyond cute, generous, intelligent and an entertaining writer.  She’s hinted there’s some really dark stuff in her past, and present.  But she’s an amazing and dedicated writer – and her books really are a scandal.

Delle Jacobs Regency Romance books have been discovered (after a fascinating 10 year journey as a published novelist) and her backlist books are selling like hot cakes on the new ereaders.  Seriously, Delle’s books are good, have won awards for years.  And she’s an awesome lady who was recently “discovered” by Amazon.

Lisa Hendrix has another installment in her Immortal series.  Lisa doesn’t write fast but she gifts us with an awesome book each time.  So worth the wait.  She’s also a woman of dry wit and clear insights about the wacky world of books.  I’d share a hotel room with her at a conference again, any time!

Esperanza by Trish MacGregor is a thrilling read!  Really, on many levels. Trish is also at least a contributing nonfiction author on everything from astrology to synchronicity.  She’s also my role model – if it wasn’t for her I wouldn’t know it was possible to write in both fiction and nonfiction.  They really are two different styles and require different voices.  This is beyond a split personality, which is way easier than developing unique voices and professional integrity in multiple genres.

Paty Jager is another split personality writer I adore.  Her paranormal books are rich with history and culture.  Her western romances are too fun because she “gets” men.  She also knows how to operate heavy equipment on her own ranch.

That’s just the – in the news- part of my network…  Here’s what’s coming…

Letters from Home by Kristina McMorris is only a month or two away.  This was a book “that would never sell” yet is pending a release date around the globe and has been optioned for a movie.

Vowed in Shadows by Jessa Slade will arrive in April.  This is book four of her Marked Souls series.  For a series, I’m totally impressed at how each book has such a different flavor, tone, and builds on the one before instead of tapping into a previous story.  That’s the craftsmanship of storytelling!

Flaherty’s Crossing by Kaylin McFarrin is generating lots of funds for cancer research and it is a great book, well crafted, a ghostly mystery that will make you think.

Terri Reed is a Must Read for me.  I love Terri’s books because they are easy and short to read, but pack a punch, and are awesome examples of how to weave many layers into a solid story.

I’ve got so many others I could add, like Elizabeth Boyle and Jane Porter and Deb Stover.

So that’s the tip of the iceberg that is my network of writers.

One of the tidbits about life we shared with our daughters when they were young was – who you associate with will flavor who you become.  I am so honored to have been hanging with all the above, before they became who they are today.

It’s such an honor to call them friends.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

One Response to the network

  1. What a wonderful post! Writers have to stick together!

    And thanks for mentioning Esperanza.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

