sonata punch

I stopped at a store for some supplies and snacks on my way to the writers conference. As I pulled into the parking space I had the awareness that the car next to me could have pulled out and hit me. The lady in the car rolled down her window and stated she saw me turn in behind her then couldn’t see where I went. So we exchanged a few words about what could have happened but didn’t. Then I wished her an awesome weekend and we went on about our lives.

As I drove up I-205 I noticed a blue car just like mine on the left, then a mile later, a white Tiburon on the right. I seldom see cars like mine so two was cool. My mind was playing the memory game of listing events from my past that have contributed the goal of the moment. It’s a great plotting exercise and a way to understand the nuance and layers of story.

The novel I’m rewriting is the one drafted that year I was on the road with Ed after his car accident.  The last job I worked in marketing included weekly website updates and is now called blogging. It amused me to sift through the events during the years that have sort of brought me full circle where I’m doing both again.

Then I realized I made a wrong turn and pulled into a parking lot to turn around. That’s when a nice older man put his Sonata in reverse and didn’t see me. His fender punched the rear panel of my shark. 😦 It didn’t even jar me, other than the panic of seeing it happen. It’s also the first time I’ve ever had to exchange insurance information with anyone.

Since there was only an hour between the first event and the second it’s weird enough to make a good story. But the spooky part is the car Ed was driving when the course of our lives took a drastic change was a Sonata.

Writers love stories like this. 🙂

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

6 Responses to sonata punch

  1. Trish says:

    wow. Do they ever. What does sonata mean? There may be some clues there. What’s the derivation of the word??

    Hope the conference goes well!

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      The conference was amazing on many levels, the Sonata punch was on my way there on Friday. Tiburon means shark (or financial raider) but I never looked up Sonata and boy does that describe this past weekend. Thanks for making me look it up.

      “Sonata: an instrumental musical composition typically of three or four movements in contrasting forums and keys.”

      Yep! That definition in how Ed’s Sonata was used in our family life (karma) makes the definition even more fun. Yet we only had it two years.

      Like

  2. Rose says:

    Juliet is in sympathy with you. She had to exchange info with a lady who backed into her parked car. New experience for her. More discord than harmony.

    Like

  3. Readers love stories like this too!

    Like

  4. Pingback: wedding plan change « Terri Patrick's Blog

  5. Pingback: the business of story « Terri Patrick's Blog

Thanks for your comments.

