New memoir site

I migrated the website for my memoir today.  Learning new skills keeps the brain engaged and I must admit it was a lot of fun to work on Blogspot through Google Chrome. I wasn’t planning to upgrade that website until the fall but I was motivated today. I’m happy with how it looks and how easy it is to update.

I should probably go through and read all of it since the text was originally posted a few years ago.  There’s sure to be glitches that didn’t work right with the cut-n-paste process. My writing style and voice have changed and I will probably want to rewrite a lot of it. But I’m in fiction mode this month, with a self imposed deadline, and will only allow wedding related interruptions.

Tess Gerritsen’s post today about Writers Who Lie made me cringe. Bogus memoirs become big news. James Frey. Margaret Selzer. Forrest Carter. Norma Khouri. And now Greg Mortenson. At least the events in my memoir are still easy to verify, even if they seem stranger than fiction. 😀

“The reason that fiction is more interesting than any other form of literature, to those who really like to study people, is that in fiction the author can really tell the truth without humiliating himself.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Yep. I also made a run to the library today and have some new authors to explore and some DVD’s to view. 🙂

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

One Response to New memoir site

  1. Trish says:

    It IS weird about the memoirs you mention. Why not just them as fiction? That’s what I wondered about Frey’s book.

    I’m sure your memoir will be fantastic!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

