all about weddings

My current WIP revolves around a wedding. Our daughter’s wedding is next month. On my recent library trip, I picked up Wedding Date to watch and The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks to read.

The movie is based on a rather flimsy and overdone premise, but is good for the layers of characterization and subtext easily missed. Some critics found it horrid, lots viewers recommend it.  🙂 I didn’t get the depth of the actual story until after the movie was over and I continued to think about it. It was highly enjoyable with a stellar cast and I’ll have to watch again before I return it.

I also enjoyed the book especially since I’ve avoided Nicholas Sparks from when I first heard about the movie based on his novel, The Notebook. It came out in theaters in 2004 and my avoidance was because the storyline too closely mirrored personal dramas in my life at that time.

Mr. Sparks came to my attention again last year with his quote, “I don’t write romances.” This raised a ruckus in romancelandia because his primary readership love romances! I was fascinated by the online discussions and decided to read one of his books but to be careful which one I chose since there’s no guarantee it will have the uplifting ending I prefer.

The writing in The Wedding  is very smooth and pleasant to read. The style breaks all the rules of scene structure and pacing promoted in many workshops and how-to books. Instead of punching into a scene, grabbing the reader by the throat for a few spirals and making a quick exit leaving the reader hanging off a cliff, Mr. Sparks rows us out into the middle of the lake and shows us how to fish.

The Wedding is told in 1st person by Wilson, a man in his 50’s, who was so amazingly dull that by page 5 the main question I had was, “how can this character sustain a story of this length?” But it only took a few chapters for this reader to be invested in his journey. My issues with Wilson’s dull self-image may be that Mr. Sparks was born in 1965, and the book was published in 2003, which means he was 37-years-old when writing about the internal self-exploration of a man in his mid-fifties who has been married for 30 years.

Weddings are flavored with stress and a whole lot of events happening in a short period of time. My pause into fictional weddings was to focus on all the delightful details and romance of the event. But I have some really bad news for Mr. Sparks, his The Wedding novel is 100% a romance.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to all about weddings

  1. Rose says:

    Ah, weddings…I love looking at wedding dresses. I think some people spend way too much on a wedding. You could almost buy a house for what some people spend!
    I loved the movie The Notebook…made me cry.

    Like

  2. Trish says:

    Funny!! You make a great point about Sparks. He’s definitely a romance author, regardless of his protests.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

