A pamper me day

Yesterday, I watched Laws of Attraction.  Two divorce lawyers, with opposing views on what their roles are in this nasty end-of-a-marriage career, fall in love. There’s lots of twists, unique characters, and an Irish castle included! Score! Yes, romance is my sport of choice and I’ve always been a Pierce Bronson fan. Ed’s more into football and basketball.

After watching the DVD, I was off to an appointment with my daughter who is a massage therapist. The last time I had a massage was when she was still in school. There’s a big difference between being a client for students and being attended to by a professional. Wow. The massage was awesome, her gift to me.

I went straight from my massage to another daughters home. This one has managed restaurants and catered events.  She hosted a small family dinner, in honor of Mother’s Day and my birthday later this month. I was fascinated to watch the cook in action and the chicken and pork were stuffed with apples, cheese and cornbread. Yum. After dinner there was a lively discussion about the wedding details for next month’s big event. The bride wants a wooded fairyland and the men in kilts. Score!

I’m not one to schedule activities that pamper me. It’s a flaw.  I like to be engaged, involved, even if it is with the stories in my head. I need to be reminded to step back and receive being pampered from others. Otherwise my world view could get distorted. I might forget the romance game is as dynamic as shooting balls through hoops and a happy ending is more fun to me than kicking a pigskin through uprights.

Note to self: Add Irish castle into a future romance plot so onsite research is required. 🙂

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

7 Responses to A pamper me day

  1. Lisa Nowak says:

    You did good in raising those daughters. My mom would be lucky if I cooked her mac and cheese. 🙂

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      Lisa, I have four daughters. They consider themselves lucky that I hung around long enough for them to grow up. They all knew I had a fantasy loft somewhere devoted to books, music and sunlight… I’m amazed at what my daughters do that I never considered doing myself like snowboard, ride dirt bikes, fit people with new glasses, file others taxes.

      I don’t believe children are supposed to live up to their parents expectations, I believe parents are supposed to provide the boundaries and safe zones for children to become themselves.

      Like

  2. Rose l says:

    Now that is a good excuse for a vacation!
    Scotland has castles as well, and those chateaux (fancy French name for castle) inLoire valley in France are gorgeous.
    Wow! A massage…so wonderful!,, I envy you!

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      Rose, It’s only the 3rd massage I’ve ever had, the first two were by students. Check out the massage schools, you might be surprised at how easy and inexpensive it is to be pampered.

      Like

  3. Roxie says:

    Hawaii is a wonderfully romantic setting. And cruise ships are classic for shipboard romances. You can get a four day re-positioning cruise for two in an inside cabin for $600. All the pampering you can stand!

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      I do have a cruise up the inland passages to Alaska on my “bucket list”. The days at sea with nothing to see but sea doesn’t appeal to me as much as the potential for scenery only available by ship.

      Like

  4. Trish says:

    Massage onto list of things to do!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

