tumbling down

The walls-are-tumbling-down seems to be the theme of almost everything coming to my attention, from hot dog politicians to finalizing the porta-potty arrangements for the wedding venue. I keep hearing this little voice in my head stating, “okay, that’s done now too.” The list is varied and includes three different legal actions, three properties, relationships, graduations, and airplane annuals.

Ed and I took our 8-yr-old grandson to the Rose Festival last week and I experienced numerous small synchronicities and number messages. There are too many to recount, and they’d take too long to explain, but they were all very direct and fun messages with a flavor of completion.

On Saturday, Elisabeth Naughton presented a workshop on pacing and the local authors who attended shared the common relief of being done with intense promotional schedules regarding their latest or current release. Delilah, Jessa, Minette, and Delle are already linked on the sidebar of my blog. I need to add KristinaCassiel, SuMaggie, Paty, and many more. I already knew these authors when they published their first books and now they are sharing advice about contracts, publicity, proposals, and more.

I’ve been distracted with a variety of books and movies from my renewed delight in The Library. I’ve been ruminating on the meaning of wedding vows. I’m working on getting my novel done, so I can refocus on completing the edits on my memoir, and establish a new marketing business. Our life journey isn’t supposed to be done. When the walls tumble down it is time to plant new seeds because another season is on its way. In my life, and in my family, the word “retirement” does not compute.

Patience has never been one of my virtues and it’s been a fascinating lesson to be required to observe walls tumbling down for others, as in the events of their lives and careers. I’ve been connected and involved but none of the recent big stories and cool transformations have been mine. The value of a secondary character in a story is how they influence the main character without taking over the story. Even as mother-of-the-bride, I’m just one of the supporting cast members to the main event. (One of the most colorful members of the cast…)

It’s good when the walls tumble. And I’m suddenly confident that the news will soon be spread that our reluctant 2-yr-old grandson is potty trained. Done with diapers!

Hmm… That potty theme may be important. 😀

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

5 Responses to tumbling down

  1. Roxie says:

    Waste management issues are ALWAYS important!

    Like

  2. The walls are tumbling down – I like that expression. It’s the breaking of barriers for something new. Good luck with the nappies, sorry diapers.

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    Like Mike, I like that walls are tumbling down phrase. And I especially enjoy the way you connect all this to secondary characters. They are often as interesting as the protagonist and it’s a challenge to NOT let them take over the story!

    Like

  4. Lisa Nowak says:

    This is a place I’ve been many times in my life, so I understand: “I’ve been connected and involved but none of the recent big stories and cool transformations have been mine. The value of a secondary character in a story is how they influence the main character without taking over the story. Even as mother-of-the-bride, I’m just one of the supporting cast members to the main event.”

    It sounds as if you’ve been as busy as I have. I hope you’re getting time to relax.

    Like

  5. rose says:

    You are a busy buzzing bee!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

