Passion

The word passion popped up many times this weekend, and when I saw the word in text on Sunday morning I realized it was a message. Suddenly, recent random things became interconnected pieces of a puzzle. I love jigsaw puzzles so that’s how I get messages.

Here’s how the pay attention to passion message was presented to me. I’ll list them in chronological order but I saw them all in a flash with that moment of seeing the word in text on Sunday morning.

The movie example I used during my characterization workshop on Saturday is Ever After, a movie I can quote even though I haven’t watched it in a year or more. The Leonardo DaVinci character states, “A life without passion is no life at all.” The Prince Henry character states, during his primary transformation moment, “You have more passion in one memory than I have in my entire being.”

On Friday, we watched the final scenes of The DaVinci Code, and we began at the scene in Teabing’s home with the passionate debate on symbols.  On Saturday night, a friend was looking through our DVD’s for a movie to borrow and pulled out The Passion of Christ, a movie I have never watched but has been in my home since we settled my parents estate. (She put it back.)

When I saw the word passion in print, it was in reference to a woman being told, “I don’t understand your emotional issues since you have a great life.” This is when the idea light bulb flashed for me and I knew I was to pay attention. My comment to her was she needs to channel her passions in a creative way. I also told her I felt I could learn a lot about passion from her journey.

It’s rare for me to get a three movie message for someone else so I am sure there are many reasons for me to get the passion insight that I will continue to explore. In this instance, I spent the rest of the day and had conversations with others, for me to feel comfortable I gave the right advice. This woman had a lot of loss and sadness in her past and few outlets to share it because she wants to be considered upbeat, positive, in control. Which she is, and the man in her life loves that and wants to provide a good lifestyle for her to share. However, it is a busy life with requirements, and there’s been little time for her to explore and find a personal passion. She admitted it is a good lifestyle, that she should appreciate. She doesn’t want to be someone with issues and didn’t realize hers are not issues, but are wounds, and a huge distraction from being passionately creative about her own life. Fortunately, she’s already in professional counseling and my involvement is only as someone who cares.

In my opinion, women have been infused with the feel-happy-be-happy propaganda and this can promote depression if there’s no outlet for a good cry or vent when needed. But too many feel they should keep negativity out of their life as they are dealing with their own issues, and loss is to be avoided. The law of attraction doesn’t differentiate between positive and negative. It responds to passionate intent.

This woman, who triggered my personal pay attention to passion message, has worked hard on her spiritual growth, self esteem, and education. Once she stopped trying to “get past the sadness to be happy,” and made a passionate plea to attract, “help!” it was swift and abundant as the cavalry-charging-to-the-rescue, with hugs. Comfort was always available but first she needed the courage to ask. Hiding wounds does not help them heal. She’s still on the healing journey but with a new sense of constant virtual hugs from many.

The law of attraction doesn’t operate as we feel it should. But it will give us the courage to ask for help. It will attract hugs and support, and deliver comfort and understanding during times of loss and sadness.

So this piece of the passion puzzle is specific to the law of attraction as an energy force within our power, that is for more than attracting wealth, happiness and a good parking spot.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

4 Responses to Passion

  1. Roxie says:

    All through school we condition ourselves to be cool, to fit in. Any sort of simple, genuine emotion is felt to be embarassing and innappropriate. A high-school kid with a passion for anything is weird and geeky. (It’s herd mentality. The nail that sticks out gets hammered down.) As adults, we need to learn to trust, accept, embrace our inner geek and revel in our passions. Be it a passion for knitting or model trains or fun things to do with Jello, we need to give ourselves permission to just enjoy the hell out of it without restraint.

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      That’s great, Roxie. I totally forgot about the fit-in or be square high school experience.
      Yesterday I was chatting with my youngest about getting her take on what it was like to be 12 when 9/11 happened because this will matter as I flesh out my next novel.

      Like

  2. Passion is so important in our lives, how dull if we have nothing to be passionate about. Passion can work miracles. Often we seem to be advised to relax, take it easy, let things drift over our heads. Problem is this can turn us into almost zombie like creatures – but if we rev up a bit of passion life gets more interesting and things start to happen. Passion is almost on a par with belief.

    Like

  3. Lisa Nowak says:

    I agree with Mike, about how important passion is. It’s what carries me though all I do. You might say it’s the fuel that drives my engine. 🙂 Truly, it’s amazing what you can accomplish with passion.

    I always find your posts like this interesting.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

