laugh about it now

Marie Osmond‘s Might As Well Laugh About It Now is a great memoir. It was a page turner and so damn enjoyable I did not stop reading until the end. I felt very connected to her personal trials, joys, and scheduling conflicts. The title is based on the advice, “You’ll laugh about this someday.”

I’m thankful I do not have a raging fire in my past, as Marie did, that destroyed the memorabilia of my life. I’m thankful not to use Sharpie markers on my face. Marie and I are the same age, so there is hope I can look as awesome but   NutriSystem is probably not in my future as I like creating my own meals. I will not dance until I’m too sore to move if a kid drops a snake on my bed. (Hm, I was too sore to move after bowling earlier this month but the kids are all grown and none ever had a snake.)

I didn’t expect to see comparisons between myself and the youngest daughter of an internationally acclaimed family of entertainers, with perfect pitch, who are Mormons. But there were many similarities in her family relationships that mirrored my Irish Catholic musical family, with a strong focus on food and faith, in suburbia Ohio. Plus, Marie and I share the multitasking skills of a mom though I only have four.

Last night, my astrologer sister checked the stars and said there are good transits for me to retreat and revision my memoir. It’s been tucked in a drawer for four months. She’s even offered a private place for a few days as my writer’s cave.

Someday is always today, regardless of the trauma of the moment, and it’s always a good time to laugh.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

4 Responses to laugh about it now

  1. rosel says:

    Fires devour memories. I pray I never go through one.

    Like

  2. Never hear much about Marie over here nowadays. I guess if we can laugh about our past it helps, but it’s not always so easy to do, Maybe better to just make sure we laugh every day.

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    The retreat is called mercury retrograde, and it starts August 2. Gret time for revising and rewriting.

    Interesting about Marie – I’ll have to try the book!

    Like

  4. Lisa Nowak says:

    I hope you get a lot out of your writer’s retreat. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

