double digits

On 8-8-11. We returned from a week of summer fun and I did the number-letter exercise. My name resonates to the number 8.

The Number 8 vibrates to the planet Saturn. It represents wisdom, learning through experience, stability, patience, and responsibility. 8 is also the number of financial security, caution, restriction, self-discipline and self-control. (Linda Goodman’s Star Signs p.190)

That doesn’t sound too fun but being practical and organized is one flavor of me that I enjoy. I took chapters of my memoir to edit and polish while on vacation. Some may applaud this discipline but I do it  because I love the books I am creating and I always have a quiet hour or two before others wake in the morn.

The 8th House in an astrological chart represents –

Death and Inheritances, the Occult: Transformation of all kinds, regeneration, sexuality, taxes, death, psychic ability. (The Everything Astrology Book – Trish MacGregor c. 1999)

Some consider 8 as a hard number, and Saturn is referred to as the greater Malefic. Jokes about death and taxes have a helpless flavor. The lesson for those who vibrate to the energy of 8 (and Saturn) is to learn that the pursuit of happiness is not a sin.

8 is also the symbol of eternity, the snake eating its tail. Like the number 3, 8 has the mirror message of as-above-so-below. 3 has an open space for the flow of communication, creativity and compassion. The shape of 8 is continuous and contained.

Our cat Pele, named for the volcano goddess, symbolized my entry into the animal dimension. An outdoor cat, Pele perches on fence posts as a feral hunter. The rare times she is content to curl in a lap, her purring is like diesel engine.

Pele instantly bonded with our golden retriever, Amber, who made the move with us to Oregon. Pele teased and taunted our lab, Rainier. Pele herded the three ducks around our yard and pitied the rabbit kept in a hutch. Pele had conversations with the Arabian, Wildfire, because Pele had the job of clearing moles from the pasture and mice from the grain bin.

I expect Pele will be gone one day, with no fanfare. She’s already granted us 14 years of duty to our home and family.  But she has no jobs anymore or other animals to harass or protect. She will never be a pampered indoor cat because the essence of Pele is not as a quilt. She is a cat with a mission and sharpens her claws to complete it, she meows to come in to eat, then meows to return to her nature space.

Totally black without a spot of anything but dirt to mar her fur, Pele is the picture of an occult familiar and never ventures away from her home. If cats have 9 lives it means they do the regenerate exercise 8 times before they get it right. 🙂

When Pele didn’t appear when we returned from our vacation, and I noticed the date, I wondered if I’d associate the double 8 with her death, but no, shortly before midnight she returned, proclaiming loudly that she wanted to eat.

I’ve noticed a lot of 8’s recently and we have scheduled excursions with our 8-yr-old grandson the rest of this week. This grandparent-grandchild is the more important example of the dual image of 8 because it is a love relationship and the single point of connection is the parent in the middle.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

6 Responses to double digits

  1. We had a perfect black cat too named, erm, ‘Black Cat’. Strange as we usually come up with better names like Pudd’n and Bonzo, maybe not better! Black Cat wasn’t too homely until the last of her 18 years. We still remember her.

    Interesting about 8, my knowledge is broadened.

    Like

  2. After I had written the above comment my wife and I went for a walk and saw two all over black cats one after the other, the first outside a house with the number 8 on it’s door!

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    Love 8s. Did you read Katherine Neville’s The Eight? If not, you’ll love it.
    Mike – coold synchro!

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      Katherine Neville’s The Eight – on my list to read.
      For some reason I think I have read it but now that I’ve researched it, it doesn’t sound familiar. Yet, it still resonates with me as a book I’ve read. So even if I have read it in the past, it’s time for a reread. 😀

      Like

  4. Trish says:

    oops – that’s COOL synchro!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

