the vacation

Prior to this last week of summer fun, I posted a question on facebook, What does the word “vacation” mean to you?

Here’s some replies from the tiny world of my personal friends and family:

  • No Dishes..No Laundry…oh and getting a pedicure! 🙂
  • hmm.. Doing only what I want to do & when I want to do it.. No demands. Maybe a cruise where I sit back and do NOTHING & everything is done for me!! 🙂
  • It means a pile up of work when I get back.
  • no setting the alarm (if I stay home); packing as much as I can do into each day(if I’m travelling)
  • Being able to take naps in the afternoon, and blow off a whole day without feeling guilty
  • to quote the go-gos… “Vacation, all I ever wanted, Vacation, had to get away…”

For me – I relate to “the pile of work when I get back” which today included six hours of activity and three loads of laundry. 

Webster online defines vacation as:

  1.  a respite or a time of respite from something : intermission 
  2. a : a scheduled period during which activity (as of a court or school) is suspended b : a period of exemption from work granted to an employee
  3. a period spent away from home or business in travel or recreation <had a restful vacation at the beach>
  4. an act or an instance of vacating
I personally see vacations as intermissions,  an interval between the parts of an entertainment (as the acts of a play) –  a space of time between events or states
I can honestly state I have never had a desire to do nothing.
Pedicures are something that I need to add to my personal hygiene routine and cloud gazing is a valid activity.
So what does “Vacation” mean to you?

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

5 Responses to the vacation

  1. We still call them holidays in England so ‘vacation’ doesn’t mean much at all. A ‘holiday’ though, to me, means freedom – of thought and mind, away from everything that makes up routine life.

    While away we never, for example, use computers, emails, phones or watch television or buy newspapers (not even for the soccer results!). Our only communication is a text to our children to tell them we arrived safely.

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    Vacation is a respite – a change of scene – a break from the same old same old. It might be a week-long cruise, or 20 minutes of intense daydreaming. It’s a refreshing change of pace.

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    A break in the routine that creates a fertile environment for synchronicity! Time to read….

    Like

  4. rose says:

    Vacation…for me it would mean a chance to see my parents and family, whom I have not seen in 7 years. Money, or lack thereof, prevents me from this goal. *sigh*

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      Yes, Rose, I can relate. There were many years of my life when vacation meant the opportunity to go home and reconnect with my parents and family. These people, and my personal past, will always be a huge aspect of who I am and who my children will become…

      Like

Thanks for your comments.

