Another move

Our youngest moved into a new home today. It’s a wonderful condo and represents a new chapter for her life. 2011 began with moving our oldest daughter and her sons into a new home and that has proved to be an amazing transition for this young family.

The wedding, of another daughter, in June was another main event.

It is truly mind boggling to consider there are four amazing women on this planet who call me mom, and are happy to do so. That mommy-career track wasn’t my intention and it was truly a learn-as-they-grow challenge.

A few weeks ago, a new acquaintance guessed my age as 36. This caused extensive laughter since I’ve been married to Ed for 31 years, and our oldest is 30. But it stuck in my head because in many ways I haven’t had the opportunity to grow older. Or as our eldest stated, at her 30th birthday party, “Mom, I remember your 50th birthday party so I know you’re over 50 but I still think you’re 36.” 🙂

In the past few weeks, I’ve had my hair color refreshed, got my teeth cleaned, and did my annual medical checkups (2 years overdue) and I’m hale and hearty. I got my eyes checked (5 years overdue) and will soon have new glasses to add to my daily routine.

My heredity on my dad’s side shows a potential that I will be hale and hearty into my 80’s. On my mom’s side, into my 90’s. Which means I can anticipate another thirty to forty years (at least) of life experiences.

I feel like I am in the same place as my daughters, embarking on new potentials. Yet, they can’t see what I see. I’m really excited for them, but I’m even more excited for myself. Adventure awaits.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

5 Responses to Another move

  1. Stacey says:

    Terri,

    Fantastic blog. I love it. Life isn’t over until we are dead and you are a wonderful example of this.

    Life is what we me make it no mater what age we are…

    xoxo

    Like

  2. Trish says:

    I applaud your attitude,your optimism, your talents and perceptions!

    Like

  3. rose says:

    I always told my son I was going to live to be 103 (I play safe for you and me cuz I’m no fool * Jiminy Cricket song).
    Who knows, you may just do it!!!

    Like

  4. Trish says:

    Wasn’t it the cricket who also said, Believe?

    Like

  5. A great attitude you have to life – stay 36 for ever. My grandmother lived to 103 and I’m determined to beat her! There’s still so much to see and do.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

