Apple and MicroSoft

The news of Steve Jobs death is very personal to me because I’ve never had an Apple product. Friends and members of my family have Apples and Mac’s, Iphones and Ipads, so I’ve had chances to play on them. Occasionally I will slip into the Apple Store at the mall and test out keyboards, marvel at the monitors and wander around the demonstrations.

No matter how mystical or romance focused my blog may be, the world of computer technology is the foundation of my lifestyle and loyalty must be maintained to PC’s and MS products. Fortunately, regardless of the competition between Steve Jobs and Bill Gates (Apple vs. Microsoft), Bill’s initial statement on the death of Steve Jobs includes a video created in 2007 that reveals they worked together a lot, especially in the early years, whether they wanted to or not. One could create what the other needed to succeed and vice-versa.

When I watched Steve Jobs address the 2005 graduates of Stanford I remembered that Calligraphy connection from the first time I watched this speech. I was again delighted to note that the innovations we use today  are steeped within mysterious codes few truly understand yet did not remain monochrome with block letters because the underdog took a Calligraphy class.

R.I.P. Steve, and thanks for the pretty fonts, graphics and animation.

‎”Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life,” Jobs said. “Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become.

Everything else is secondary.”
Steve Jobs 1955 – 2011
wired.com

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

7 Responses to Apple and MicroSoft

  1. Terri, I love the quote you chose at the end. It speaks to anyone who has ever gone against the norm–writers, artists, inventors. I love that he didn’t bow to the traditional wisdom and found a way to infuse life with pushing people beyond their imaginations for technology.

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      I was told Steve Jobs was the enemy camp (dogma) which always made him more interesting. I’ve spent too many years where the blue screen of death was tolerated.
      There may be an Apple product or two in my future. 😀

      Like

  2. Trish says:

    Recent convert here. Will never go back to windows. His 2005 commencement address was a beautiful message for all of us.

    Like

  3. Rose L says:

    Amen.

    Like

  4. Lisa Nowak says:

    What a great quote. Interesting that Jobs and Gates worked together.

    Like

  5. Love the quote. Having been away on holiday I hadn’t realised that he had passed on. An interesting man.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

