Dirty Dancing

I’ve continued to get movies from the library to watch as the concentrated basketball season has been the focus of the after dinner hours in our home. This is so clique, where he goes off to his man cave with the remote and big screen TV. I slip into my office, put in a DVD and place ear buds in my ears. 😀

The collection of movies for this week I snatched in a hurry because I only had 20 minutes before the library closed for the night. I’ve watched a lot of movies that I was happy to be able to fast forward to the end. Others I tried way too hard to figure out the intent of the movie and why the audience would choose that experience. I was done with exploring and when I set my selections on the library counter to check out, I said, “I only chose movies I know I like this time.”

But I was surprised when the librarian said, “Oh yeah, I’ve done that when I needed to heal after those years of taking care of my ailing parents.” That’s a loaded sentence for a casual verbal exchange between two people who don’t know each other’s name, and my reply was, “Yeah, thank God for Romantic Comedies.” Then we shared a chuckle and our encounter was over. But I don’t overlook random loaded sentences and the message of this one is obvious because when it’s time to heal from caring for aging parents it means they are dead.

I also look past the obvious and maybe the message of that sentence was – that I need to heal because I didn’t get to care for my ailing parents as I was on the other side of the continent. They had exceptional care from my brother and sister, but not me. Or – maybe the message was that it’s time to heal from trauma’s in my life. The past twelve years have been intense for me on many levels.

As I watched Dirty Dancing tonight I felt like I was in a time warp. I was experiencing a tiny slice of a world that existed in 1963, when I was four-years-old, as that world was ending. But it was revisited in 1987 when this low-budget film began it’s journey as a cult classic. By then I had been to the Catskills.

I’d also watched Jennifer Grey on the 2010 season of Dancing with the Stars and have the Patrick Swazye autobiography, after his death, on my bookshelf. This book winks at me but I still haven’t read it. That may be because I’m still in my personal healing cycle after years of trauma and joys.

Even if we become a cliche, it’s possible we are participants in a future cult classic.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

5 Responses to Dirty Dancing

  1. Rose L says:

    Sometiems the mood I am in will affect the tyoe of movies I choose to watch. Lately romance is out of the question, maybe because of the lack in my life. I recently watched the movie The Three Lives of Thomasina based on the book by Paul Gallico years ago when I was a child. It had impressed me so much then. As I expected, I shed tears during sad and emotional parts. And it took me back to childhood.

    Like

  2. Barb says:

    Grease was on last night and I marvel that it resurrected itself with a younger set who can sing all the words to the songs.

    I love old movies. I hadn’t thought of them as a palliative. I’ll have to ponder that wise thought, but I know I do feel a tender comfort when The End flashes across the screen, and I realize I’ve been in another world away from my present whirlwind.

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    I loved dirty dancing! And I know what you mean about movies – old and new – speaking to us in particular ways. Don’t books do the same thing?

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

