This new moon in Cancer

I’ve always preferred the New Moon as it is a time of initiating energy even though it’s a dark sky. The farmers almanac recommends all planting to be done after the new moon and until the Gibbous moon. Being in charge of initiating anything, whether project or attitude or hairstyle, at the new moon, means we’re tapping into growth energy.

The full moon represents the culmination, completion, and/or manifestation of what has been chosen or initiated during new moon energy. I think (I’m not an astrologer so this time span could be wrong) the full moon manifestation is not necessarily what was initiated during the new moon two weeks prior, but during the new moon in the same sign as the full moon, like six months prior.

I follow a few astrology blogs and there is a lot of excitement about the current planetary alignments but I want to share for those who don’t speak the lingo, my feelings about the 3 T-squares in this month New Moon chart:

A T-square is formed when there are two planets in opposition and one planet square to the opposition. T-squares are likely to be either cardinal, fixed or mutable. The planet at the apex, which squares both ends of the opposition, functions as the catalyst, mediating between the planets in opposition. This is an open, unstable, stressful aspect pattern but is often extremely effective and dynamic

It’s not uncommon for astrologers to be very excited about stellar aspects that sound horrific to the the rest of us.

One blog I follow is  jbuss Astrology and I felt my first inkling of concern when I read this line regarding this month’s new moon transit of one of the T-square:

So any Identity TransFormations that occur over the coming month will be permanent.

I’m not comfortable with anything being permanent, even if it is a stellar time stamp.

When I was avidly watching astrological transits to my natal chart, years ago, it was to see what was forming over the energetic aspects of the moment.

This  jbuss Astrology article with the beautiful Dravite (brown Tourmaline) pictured above, refers to the mundane planetary transits. Mundane astrology interpretations are about where the stars and planets are today in the sky and their energetic relation to each other on a global/universal scale. It’s not personal even though we are all connected. I was enjoying all the imagery of the hand made silk carpets until I read…

So, as Saturn Opposes Eris, it brings into full flower the Energy born at their Conjunction.  When and where was that?  Early March of 1998, at 19 degrees of Aries…

See, that’s what I mean about the full moon not representing the manifestation of what was initiated at the most recent new moon. Saturn moves a bit slower than the moon and generates long term lessons and challenges.

There’s no reason to worry, the scuttle through astrology world is all these T-square transits are amazing and fascinating, even if they don’t feel comfortable to us as change ripples around Mother Earth, through all of humanity, and our social, economic, and political systems.

On a personal note, I was instantly remembering the spring of 1998. We had only moved into our home here in Oregon in mid October, six months earlier. This house was a fixer-up-er and a bit cramped as we were a family of six with less space than our prior home in New Jersey. The animals were already multiplying.

We’d moved our 6-yr-old Golden with us but that spring of ’98 is when there were also three ducks, a long haired black cat (who had five kittens), and a bunny. These underfoot pets were shortly joined by a horse, and then another dog. I was often a bit stunned to scan my home and menagerie of animals and wonder, how did I end up in this life? I’m not a fan of the stories where the girl leaves the city to find love in the country… However, as each animal arrived I sort of thought it was a good idea at the time and went with the flow of our family life. But that’s past now, and 14 years later only the black cat is still around. She’s PELE, named for the Hawaiian volcano goddess.

I am a bit nervous about these mundane planetary aspects that will be enhanced with initiating new moon energy -3 days prior and after Wednesday/Thursday this week- because I checked to see if any of it was aspecting my personal natal chart and, of course, they all are. So take heart that no matter how scary it sounds, I sort of get it, and these T-squares are hitting me (and my family) on many personal levels.  Mercury is also retrograde and the message with that is always to pause and review, revise, redo, instead of initiate.

I will be cautious as I review transforming my identity. I’ve done the “go with the flow, it seemed like a good idea at the time” manifestation. So under the dark sky this week, be aware that a retrograde Mercury is often considered the dark trickster. I’ll contemplate if I want to dodge the dark side or embrace it.

It may be permanent – at least for another 14 years. (Cue evil laughter.)

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

3 Responses to This new moon in Cancer

  1. Trish says:

    Wow, what a fantastic post. But you know, a new moon in Cancer, the most subjective and intuitive of signs, can’t be a bad thing even with all the other aspects going on. In the end, we are all stewards of what we create. This energy is about our ability to nurture ourselves – or not – to manifest what we desire – or not – to transform the personal into the collective – or not. We choose. We select. We decide which opportunity is a temptation and which is destiny. We choos. It seems to me, Terri, that you are on exactly the right path.

    Like

    • terripatrick says:

      Thanks, Trish. In many ways I feel you and Rob were having a picnic at the trailhead of a path as I’ve been exploring the woods. I want to know the next time you’re going to be windsurfing at Hood River…

      Like

  2. Pingback: From sea to the high planes « Terri Patrick's Blog

Thanks for your comments.

