The Public Writer

My horoscope this morning: Your public self and your private self want different things right now, and it’s starting to make you feel weird and out of place wherever you are.  …

That is so true for many. I have just taken down all the date-reminders from the wedding activities and put up only the most special holiday decorations. We are not hosting any parties this year and a bathroom remodel will soon begin. I plan to send holiday cards when I have a family photo from the wedding photographer.

Roses 2012

We call ourselves The Roses

Last weekend I attended two holiday parties, a dinner with our airplane friends on Friday nights and a pot luck event my writers chapter on Saturday morning.

We created a  YouTube video clip of us singing “We Wish You A Merry Christmas.” I will not recommend watching it, but if you celebrate that holiday, enjoy the message. I am barely visible from the back row in this photo which is great as last year I was in the front row, and realized wearing pink was a horrible wardrobe  choice with my hair color.

Earlier this week, Morgan I had the honor of sharing lunch with George and Salli,

George, Salli, Morgan, Terri

George, Salli, Morgan, Terri

creators of The Authors Road.

Morgan and I will include a static link to their site from a to-be-created page on our AM101 site. Our experience with authors is that too many get wrapped up in the marketing and social media aspects of being a writer today and forget about the 90% of their writing career focus that is required to be an author.

It was George’s birthday that day too! Being able to celebrate his birthday at this first meeting regarding our online activities is a great example how our private and public lives intersect. As often happens, the four of us share a lot more interests and experiences than our love of authors and books.

Another aspect of my public and private self wanting different things refers to the length of my hair. I’ve let it grow so it could be styled with cascading curls for the wedding. But now I have to decide how I want to look in public and how much hair attention I want to spend in private.

With Melia Alexander

With Melia Alexander

So I’ll consider two other pictures taken after thehat pics 002 wedding. One with my friend Melia, and the other wearing my sister’s hat. I’ve never looked good in hats because of my hairstyles, and I also hated the hat-head look, in spite of loving hats.

Some days, when we’re in a weird place, contemplating the hat we wear and the length of our hair is considered a productive activity.

Lighting a candle with a prayer for peace is even more productive.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to The Public Writer

  1. Rose L. says:

    You look so cute in that hat! Very stylish!
    Sounds like you have had many events in your life lately. Merry Christmas and a joyous new year. Weds. at Chrysalis I think we are all bringing goodies to devour.

    Like

  2. Trish says:

    Happy holidays, Terri!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

