The direction of the wind

PH clouds 012There’s nothing worse than being excited about a new career, new routines, and that feeling of fresh beginnings – being mirrored in the sounds and smells of an early Spring – and then suddenly be hit with a flu.

Fortunately, my week with the flu began on Monday and I didn’t have meetings scheduled until Saturday. But alas, we missed our grandson’s science fair on Thursday. I may have had the energy to attend, but not to drive. By then Ed was just starting his journey through fever, coughs and congestion.

The week before the flu, my attention was focused on events transpiring around my brother-in-law and his heart issues. This was scary times for his family yet he is now recovering with good prospects. The turning point was when his daughters brought music to his hospital room. One was devoted to playing the fiddle, but the other watched her dad’s heart monitor even out until it was keeping the beat.  The doctors credit the meds, but his daughters hold more faith in the music.

As heart, health, and music, was the focus of my attention the week before the flu, it’s still been humming in my head this whole week as well. I wasn’t aware of it when I got in the car to go to my Saturday meeting. But now I can recall how a short drive with songs on the radio picked me out of the sludge from the constant drone of the TV – which is Ed’s venue of distraction.

The meeting was in a noisy restaurant-bar and I was hyper until I got something to eat. When I notice myself calming down I always wonder how wild I was…  Then a lively social venue began with lots of friends and free flowing conversation. I felt more alive than I had all week but after a few hours I remembered I was still wimpy and needed to stop at the store on the way home for juice, eggs, and cough syrup.

That short drive alone with the songs on the radio, grounded me, I could feel me heart keeping the beat. I know my happiness resonates to certain music but knowing and doing sometimes get the flu.

While I was more functional on Sunday, I was also still in LaLaLand and wondered if I could find a visual that spoke to my mood. And that’s the picture above, from last summer. I can feel a symphony in those clouds.

I love LaLaLand. And Spring. I also love being proactive, efficient and balanced. Maybe I’ll figure out how to be all of the above at the same time.

Or, maybe I’m just supposed to recognize the differences and go with the flow.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

3 Responses to The direction of the wind

  1. Rose L. says:

    On the music idea…music can help calm you. I used to meditate while listening to Moody Blues or Chicago (am I dating myself??) and I would get so relaxed and calm and drift into a meditative state where others said they could not tell if I was breathing or not. I am thinking of starting up again as my blood pressure has been too high.

    Like

  2. Jamie Brazil says:

    Hope your back to 100% today. Saturday was fun, but noisy!

    Like

  3. Jamie Brazil says:

    Ugh, not enough coffee… hope you are 100% TODAY 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

