New Wheels for the Road

Black is Past, Silver Days begin

Black is Past, Silver Days begin

It’s obvious I’m entering a new stage in my life journey, with two books scheduled for publication this fall. But, I still enjoy the opportunity for taking wrong turns and studying maps to figure out the “You Are Here” location. I plan to teach my grandchildren the fine art of cartography someday.  (Ed will want them to read aeronautical charts.) I do feel GPS technology is awesome, for following directions from Point A to Point B, but it reminds me of Pavlov’s dogs every time there’s a ding-ding to turn here…  Yes, I’d rather be considered a ding-a-ling than be conditioned to respond appropriately at the sound of a bell.

It’s taken a month of wandering car lots, taking test drives, and convincing salesmen we weren’t buying yet, to settle on a new car. Our main criteria was comfort and dependability while having grandchildren with us for an adventure.

It amuses me to consider all the roads I’ve wandered down to arrive at this point of driving a rather ordinary sedan. It was fun to be the wild red-head in a flashy black sport car but now I prefer taking the bumps on the road in a comfy cloud, with silver lines.

And while the poet Robert Frost is a bit soft and quiet to relate to me, the following poem is more ME than being conditioned to respond as expected.

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost
Yep, make a difference…  Is there a poem stuck in your head right now?

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

5 Responses to New Wheels for the Road

  1. Rose L. says:

    I like silver over black! You’d look good in any color!

    Like

  2. Rose says:

    I love the line “both that morning equally lay.” Many of the most powerful choices we make are presented in such neutral settings. Keep walking through the changing scenes.

    Like

  3. Jamie Brazil says:

    I’m having fun with navigator… in fact, theremight be a blog post in my relationship with navigator 🙂 Have fun on life’s new journey.

    Like

  4. Trish says:

    I have zero sense of direction, so a GPS is a miracle.
    That Frost poem remains one of my favorites.

    Like

  5. Silver sounds fine. I like maps and still prefer to use them for journeys I don’t know – you see so much more about the road you are travelling. But maybe it’s just because I dislike being told what to do and when.

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

