Fun in Book World

I spent the weekend at the PNBA Tradeshow and am excited about this new layer of interaction with booksellers, librarians, and book lovers who have made their passion their business. Our workshop was a rousing success as Morgan kept all attendees in the packed room, engaged. No one was in a hurry to leave the room and some gathered to chat more among themselves in the morning.

We had a few meetings with publishing and bookseller experts. They were already flipping through our little book and offering all kinds of pointers and suggestions for future marketing books. My brain is rather stuffed and it will take some time to relax and process everything.

PNBA2013 029

One of the highlights of this event was meeting new friends, like Gary & Kathy Robson who own Red Lodge Books & Tea, in Montana. Gary knows his Teas and he has written children’s nature and science picture books in his “Who Pooped in the …” series, featuring wildlife “Scat and Tracks for Kids” in numerous parks around the western USA.

Morgan was entranced by Princess Cupcake Jones and the Missing Tutu, and we were both enthralled at Don Compton’s amazing Pop-up Book of America’s National Parks. It’s very elaborate and a treasure. We never would have seen this book if Don hadn’t been in our workshop and was convinced to carry it around. It’s only available (for now) at National Parks, or through Amazon, not at a local bookseller.

We took some time away from our book browsing and chatting to sign our own book for over forty people who Really Wanted It! Our publisher was thrilled with the orders she got that day. 😀

We’ve gotten a 5* review on the kindle version and know that reviewer was so impressed with the ebook that he went and bought the print version. My romance novel also has a 5* review from a reader.  I’m feeling pretty good after my first event in Book World where my name badge labeled me as an author, to my peers.

Now I’m home for more fun, with my grandchildren.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

8 Responses to Fun in Book World

  1. Rose L. says:

    I have been enjoying the book so far and reading it during my half hour lunch at work 3 days a week. It is my first romance novel!

    Like

    • I wrote it to be enjoyed all the way to the end. I’m glad it’s your first. I incorporated what I love about romance novels, and the type of multi-generational family dynamics that matter – to me. Enjoy!

      Like

  2. That must be quite something to sign copies of your own book. Wishing you continued success – there will be long queues waiting for your signature one day!

    Like

  3. Trish says:

    Sounds like fun! And good for you… You earned this!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Networking at PNBA 2013 | Gary D. Robson

  5. Jamie Brazil says:

    It was great seeing you at PNBA and at RCRW. Congrats on 40 sales and the solid orders!

    Like

  6. Pingback: No Time for a Wedding |

Thanks for your comments.

