Books I Read Recently

I have a lot of “To Be Read” ebooks even though I am really selective about even the free or $0.99 deals. However, I have read some that I enjoyed enough to mark as “worth a reread” and so here are some of those:

[Disclaimer – I’ve used Amazon links because they usually work and you can read quite a bit of the book to see if it’s one you want to read.]

Secret Sister by Emelle Gamble

This was a rather eerie page turner. It is in first person and begins with a delicately described, though gruesome, car crash with a fatality.  I usually avoid first person stories because it means I am getting inside the head of an unreliable narrator. In this case, we get inside the head of more than one of those, and that’s just the beginning. Seriously, read the blurbs and reviews for this one. It’s really good and I was fascinated all the way through and pleased with the ending.

Son of Thunder by S. C. Mitchell 

This was a page turner because it’s a mash up action-adventure-romance-through-myths-and-legends, with a touch of fun and fantasy.

What I really liked about this story (I read these books months ago) is that it took me on a roller coaster ride through worlds and time and wild weather with a diverse and densely populated cast of characters, but I didn’t get lost. I did have to slow down my reading speed but I love it when a book makes me do that.

According to Legend by Gerri Brousseau

This is another first-person story and I was fascinated at how well I empathized with the main character as she traveled back and forth through time, and fell in love with two unique men, while her life was in jeopardy in both worlds.

These three books were all published by the digital-first boutique publisher called Soul Mate Publishing that released it’s first books in 2011. As a “boutique” they are small and exclusive to specific products which is “high-quality romantic fiction for readers around the world.”  I’ve read more than these three books and so far have been impressed with every one.  I’ll recommend more books soon.

This publisher is still building its brand, keeps adding books to the “shelves” and has polished up its web presence.  When I first learned about them, they were barely a year old and the website was pretty rinky-dink. But the founder and senior editor wanted to publish my book…

Now the website is a lot better and it’s a joy to see ME there. I do intend to have more of my books available there but they are still in process. That’s why I’m pleased to say — Check out other authors my publisher features, you’ll probably find some great reads!

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

5 Responses to Books I Read Recently

  1. Jamie Brazil says:

    What drew me to Soul Mate Publishing was senior editor Debby’s sharp skills. Agree, the original website was not a draw, but with time it has improved. The roster of authors and list of titles has been strong since the get-go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rose L. says:

    I have a friend who loves romance novels so I plan to recommend to her!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trish says:

    Even books that sell for $4.99 are a bargain when you consider when you pay these days for a hardback or a paperback. Cool post, Terri.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree that $4.99 is a bargain and I’m amused by the current gymnastics in pricing.

      Most of my established author friends sell their e-books for $4.99 and only offer special deals at the initial release to fans who’ve signed up to be notified. This is the reverse of how pricing has been done in the past. Readers now know they can’t wait for the discount in a few weeks. It’s fun to watch how this industry is evolving!

      Like

      • Trish says:

        Traditional publishing is losing. They don’t understand that we aren’t going to pay 25 bucks for a hardcover if we can get the ebook at a fraction of the price.That’s really the consumer line in the sand. Cost and quality. A brand.

        Like

Thanks for your comments.

