Hunger and Games

baby shower 005

Everything on this table was a delight to savor. It’s a bonus to have a professional chef in our family!

The baby shower for grandbaby # 3 (it’s a girl!) was on Saturday and it was an awesome party. I’m still adjusting to this generational shift from being the host of family parties to attending them at my daughters homes.  My sisters and I have discussed, as the “Baby Boomer” generation, how our expectations and roles in the family as grandparents are very different than our ancestors examples. And our children have taken family celebrations to a new level of awesomeness that do our ancestors proud.

I’ve finally read all three books of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and it’s a Really Well Done Trilogy. The ending made reading the stories worth the journey.

baby shower 002

Not Sushi – it’s layers of gummy candy and super sweet and chewy. Ed’s face, when he popped that “Sushi Candy” in his mouth was awesome. Two chews and he had to spit it out. LOL!

These books will be used as examples for a workshop at a conference I’ll be attending this weekend in Canon Beach, Oregon.  I know Jessica Morrell’s workshop will be more relevant now, on many levels. She’s been one of my writing mentors this past decade, and a tough teacher.

My resistance to reading this YA dystopian trilogy was because it represents a fearful  future that flavored my childhood, and is a metaphor for what still flavors humanity today.

baby shower 018

Hint: Sharp teeth to cut the nipple hole bigger is a plus. And squeeze the bottle for a stronger stream…

That’s why my attention is spent on the delights and desires of being human, and all the power and grace and mystery that journey entails! Like Baby Showers and trying to drink beer through the nipple of a baby bottle.

Or making gummy candy treats that look like sushi and really surprise old-guys who don’t wear their glasses and are expecting a sushi experience when they pop a gummy candy treat in their mouth.

baby shower 024

The guys put beer in their bottles. The girls won with water.

There was also a “onesie” game at the Baby Shower, and many beer pong games.  Baby showers are a big deal. Weddings are too. I’m also an advocate for Birthday Parties, Family Celebrations, and games where children develop teamwork skills.

Neighborhood parties and happy potential futures for my daughters and grandchildren are required, and I refuse to consider any other option.  Argue with me at your peril. I am fully armed for this battle. My weapon of choice is the written word, and I’ll shoot my arrows of Happily Ever After with even more determination.

My passion will always be that I refine what I have lived and learned into something of value to to empower joy and abundance. That “happily ever after” warm and fuzzy feeling prior to The End of a romance novel is the fallacy, the fiction. The bigger story is always yet to be written and while babies are not required, they sure are cute when they are sleeping.

About Terri Patrick
Writer of Romance and Memoir. Life is an adventure, take that journey.

2 Responses to Hunger and Games

  1. Never tried to drink beer through the nipple of a baby bottle, always thought there was something missing from my life – but family gatherings are always something special.

    Like

  2. Trish says:

    Looks like great fun!

    Like

Thanks for your comments.

